An open letter to Medium

Dear Medium

When Daddy and I decided to try for Little, everyone said, “But that will make Medium a middle child.” My answer then was the same as it is now: If ever there was a child that should be a middle child, it’s Medium.

You, my darling girl, are the glue. You look up to your big sister and look after your little one. You love them both with such enthusiasm. Everything you do is with such enthusiasm. You’re a joy. You’re brilliant. You’re the one that will keep the three of you close. You’re the one that means I can worry less.

Every day, you amaze me. You’re only just two but you’re speaking fluently… And loudly. You were born without a volume dial, but do you know what? That just adds to your charm. The second Little cries, you find me to announce, “She wants her Mummy Mulk (milk).” You can’t bear her being upset. If I say she’s been fed, you tell me she needs a ‘Tuddle’. You just want everyone to be happy.

You smile all day, every day – just showing your bottom teeth. You’re out in the garden in your pyjama top, nappy and wellies as soon as you get up to go for a bounce on the trampoline. You crunch your little chubby knees up as high as you can, laughing as you bounce as high as possible. It’s ever better when Big joins you and you play chase. I’ve never known anyone smile and laugh as much you do, my happy little soul.

You eat. Boy, do you eat. All day. Everything you see. But I’m not surprised; you don’t stop moving. Big will sit down and watch a film. You? Never. There’s too much to DO. And too much to eat.

You’re no picnic though, Medium. When things don’t go your way, you’ll lie on the floor and protest like any other two-year-old. Often silently, but you’ll refuse to move and it’s best to leave you on the floor. Otherwise it really does get loud. That said, you adjust amazingly. When I felt it was time to limit your doh-doh (dummy), I expected a fight. I didn’t get one. You just shrugged your little shoulders and said, “Okay, I’ll just have it at bedtime.’

You’re hilarious. I never know what you’re going to do next. It’s not uncommon to find you wearing Little’s hat, Big’s wellies and my coat. You draw on Little’s head, call random numbers on my phone and climb anything and everything. You’re inquisitive, clever and just great fun. As Daddy says, you’re good value. You have a fan club. I actually get emails asking what you’ve been up to because you’re so funny.

You are just awesome, Medium, and I love you to the moon and back. I can’t wait to see what your future holds and I can’t wait to be there with you.

Love, Mummy. xxx

An open letter to Medium

One thought on “An open letter to Medium

Leave a Reply

